If you’re using an ADT security system, you may be wondering how long ADT keeps the videos saved in their servers. The footage is saved online on the ADT cloud and the user can access the footage when needed. However, these videos are not saved there forever.
ADT saved the security footage up to thirty (30) days via their ADT Pulse phone app. After this period of time, the footage is cycled and the old days (videos) are automatically erased to make room for the new footage.
If you need to save videos for later use, you need to download them from the cloud (using the app) and store them in some external devices such as a computer, USB drive, external hard drive, etc.
It’s important to back up any videos that are deemed valuable for you or that may need to show to the police or use in court. If not saved within these 30 days, the videos will be overwritten and you can no longer access them.
How are ADT videos saved?
By default, the ADT Pulse phone app saves the security footage from all the cameras and these recordings can be accessed anytime using the dashboard. The footage is overwritten periodically and the footage is accessible for 30 days only.
The ADT saves the videos in the cloud which is a fancy way of saying remote server. Basically, the encrypted videos are uploaded via the internet to ADT remote servers, and, from there, the users can playback, screenshot, or download recordings.
How long are ADT videos saved?
Usually, ADT keeps the security videos saved for either 24 hours or 30 days. Depending on the subscribed plan, you can get 2 weeks or even 3 months.
After thirty days (which is the default plan) the footage starts to recycle automatically. The older days will be erased and the newer days will be stored.
It basically goes on a loop overwriting the content over and over. If something happened and you need the recording for future use, you need to download the footage on your phone or computer.
Does ADT record constantly?
ADT security systems capture everything all the time but they store the footage only when motion is detected. This is done to save space, extend the length of the recordings and optimize the footage for the cloud.
Basically, the system and the cameras run 24/7, when motion is triggered or detected, the system records the footage and saves it temporarily locally and later on in the cloud.
By default, the ADT cameras are set to record videos 5 seconds before and after the motion ends (these parameters can be modified via the ADT Pulse app).
However, the system may not record instantly if the camera is connected to the WiFi and there’s a connectivity issue. That’s the reason why most security camera systems are hardwired (even if there’s a connection loss, the footage will be saved).
Moreover, there are settings on the system where you can adjust the recording parameters, such as setting it on motion record only, continuous mode, or making the cameras record at specific times of the day or night. For example, use the system to record only when you’re away from the property.
How to retrieve deleted ADT videos?
Don’t waste any time, it’s impossible to retrieve a video that is deleted or overwritten on the ADT system. Once the video is gone, you can’t get it back no matter what. For liability and security reasons, ADT doesn’t use redundant storage.
However, you can save important videos by yourself (before they are overwritten) and save them digitally on your devices (such as phone, computer, external hard drive, USB stick). So, if something happened, you need to download the video as soon as possible and save it for future use.
To download and saved the ADT videos (before they are automatically erased), follow this procedure:
- Go to ADT website and login using your credentials.
- Select the Video tab.
- Select Saved Video Links.
- All the saved videos will be there and you can download individual clips, rename them, or perform other actions.
Additionally, you can access your videos through the ADT Pulse software. On the Saved Video menu, you can perform actions such as:
Play Video: This function lets you browse through the saved videos on the ADT server from the last 24 hours or 30 days. You can pause, reverse, or fast-forward the recordings.
Download: This function allows the users to download the saved ADT videos on their devices such as phone, computer, external hard drive, USB stick, etc.
By downloading the relevant videos, you can save them digitally and have them stored as long as needed. Otherwise, the videos get automatically overwritten on the ADT server (you will lose them after 30 days).
Rename: Usually, you don’t need to rename the clips, but you should if they are relevant. This way you can locate them faster and easier to download. We’d suggest adding the timestamp (or date) in the filename.
Change Description: Here you can add a brief description for the video which will help you identify and understand the footage.